Bear qualities

Physical qualities of a bear :

Bears are a small group of large mammals that live in different places of the world, such as forests, mountains, hills, deserts, and grassy areas, and it should be noted that despite the difference in the types of bears, they are similar among themselves in the qualities that they carry.

All bears have a stocky body, covered with fur, short legs, rounded head, and elongated face, and they also lack physiological characteristics, among which are: low heart rate, body temperature, respiratory rate, as well as blood pressure.

Bears also have some qualities that help them adapt to their environment like the polar bear, including the following:

  • Her skin is covered with two layers of white fur, to protect her from the cold, and maintain her body temperature.
  • Bears have a thick layer of fat, to keep them warm.
  • Possessing long, thick, and sharp claws, she helps to hunt her prey.
  • Possessing supports under their paws, known as papillae, they help Bears stay on the ground, preventing them from slipping.
  • She has huge feet, fur between her toes, and paws like paddles that help her swim.

Behavioral qualities of bears :

Bears are characterized by some behavioral traits that distinguish them from others, including the following:

  • Bears are characterized as shy animals, do not like to interact with humans, and they are not vicious, or wild, but being misunderstood by people may sometimes endanger them.
  • Bears behave aggressively or may run away when someone encroaches on their private space.
  • Black bears are considered less aggressive than gray, they can live in populated habitats.
  • A black bear usually runs away, or climbs into a tree when threatened by humans, and rarely causes harm to people.
  • Bears, with the exception of the Black Bear, are characterized by the fact that they do not climb trees, despite their ability to do so.
  • Bears are characterized as curious animals, they check smells and noises, to discover if they are edible or just play with them.
  • Bears stand on their hind legs, to increase the feeling of some of their senses, including smell, hearing, and sight, and this movement does not indicate that they are fierce or aggressive, as some believe.
  • Bears can be seen at any time, but they are active at the time of dawn to dusk.
  • Bears live close to each other, but not in large groups.
  • The bear sucks his hands and feet when he is hungry, and this helps him to remove hunger from him.
  • The bear is distinguished by its different temperament, as it eats what the seven eat, what other beasts eat, and what man also eats.

Types of bears :

There are eight types of bears, which are as follows:

  1. American black bear.
  2. Asian black bear.
  3. The brown bear.
  4. A giant panda bear.
  5. The polar bear.
  6. The masked bear.
  7. The Lazy Bear.
  8. Sun bear.

Bear food :

The bear is one of the animals that eat plants and animals, and each type of food differs according to the bear, for example, the polar bear eats seals, and the giant panda spends 12 hours a day, eating bamboo.

While sloth bears eat termites, it is their favorite food, as they have long noses that help them suck termites out of their holes.

Is the bear endangered?

All bears are at risk of extinction with the exception of brown bears, and American black bears the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) indicates that the giant panda is the most endangered bear species, and it is estimated that its numbers that are still alive range from 1000 to 2000 bears.

The same is true for polar bears, as the World Wildlife Federation indicates that polar bears number between 20-25, 000 bears, and the IUCN states that the Lazy Bear and the sun bear lack a natural habitat, and therefore they are endangered.